Rather than broadly offering the griever “If there’s anything I can do,” try to be specific in your offers, such as sending them a meal, walking their dog, or something to help with the daily burdens of life that are made more difficult in grief. Here are 75 comforting messages and quotes you can draw upon when offering your sympathy to someone who has lost a parent or is mourning their mom and father.

What to Say To Someone Who Lost a Parent

  1. I know this must be a difficult time for you and your family. We’re keeping you in our thoughts and prayers.
  2. Please know that I’m here for you, to listen, comfort and lean on during this difficult time.
  3. Losing someone so special can feel incredibly overwhelming. I am sending love to you and your family during this trying time.
  4. Once the funeral is over and the prayers have all been said, know that we are still keeping you in our hearts as you mourn your loss.
  5. In times of great sadness, look back and take comfort in all of the beautiful memories you made. We are so sorry to hear about the loss of your [father /mother].
  6. My prayers and thoughts are with you during your time of loss. May God’s mercy give you comfort knowing that your [mother /father’s] long-suffering has ended, and [she /he] is at peace.
  7. We want to express our sorrow and condolences to you and your family. [He/she] will be a part of our prayers from now on.
  8. I was so sorry to hear of your mother/father’s passing. I hope you can take comfort in the presence of close friends and family in this tough time.

What to Say To Someone Who Lost Their Mom

  1. A mother is with us always, first in her lifetime, then forever in our memory.
  2. There is no one in this world like your mother. She was a special woman, and she will be with you always.
  3. Your mom’s kindness, generosity and caring nature were contagious, and her memory will live on forever.
  4. I know that your mom went through a lot and fought so hard. I am so saddened to hear of her passing.
  5. I didn’t know your mom well, but she must have been incredible to raise someone as special as you.
  6. My deepest condolences to you and your family during this time. Your mother was an amazing woman, and she will truly be missed.
  7. During the ups and downs of life, I hope you take a bit of comfort knowing that your mom will always be with you.
  8. Your mom’s amazing qualities are being carried on beautifully by you. She will be greatly missed and always remembered.
  9. Your mom was a very special lady and loved by everyone who knew her. Please know that we share in your grief and extend our deepest sympathy to you and your family.
  10. I know your mom is watching over you and protecting you. Your mom’s spirit will continue to guide you just as she did when she was here.
  11. I was so shocked to hear of your mother’s passing. I know how special she was to you. I am so sorry for your loss.
  12. I can imagine how difficult this time may be for you. I want you to know that your mother was amazing, and I know how much she loved you.
  13. May these words comfort you on the loss of your mother. I will always remember her sweet smile and beautiful nature. May God keep you in his embrace at this difficult time.
  14. Heaven has added an angel. Your mom was such a kind person. God bless you and your family and watch over you during this most difficult time.
  15. Heaven became a little brighter when your mom passed away.
  16. Your mother was a gift to this world and her compassion will carry on through you. She will be deeply missed.
  17. I remember how much she used to love us, and take care of us, and be there for all of us. We will always consider your mom part of our family.
  18. Your beautiful mother is now an angel, watching over you, protecting you, and guiding you with love.
  19. Your mother was always laughing and brought joy to all of us. Our condolences.
  20. No one can ever replace the amazing person your mother was. My thoughts are with you during this time.
  21. May your mom rest in peace and continue to guide your way in life.
  22. When someone as special as your mom lives the way she did, her legacy is sure to live on through the many lives she touched.
  23. My deepest condolences on the unexpected passing of your mother. You and your family are in my prayers. Let me know if there is anything that I can do.
  24. Your mother was a lovely woman and a dear friend, and the news of her passing saddened us all. Wishing condolences from our family to yours.
  25. Someone who shared so much of life with you will forever be a part of you. Keeping you in my prayers as you remember your mother.
  26. You’ll always remember how it felt to be loved by your mother. I hope those memories will bring you some comfort in time.
  27. I will always remember the special times your mother and I spent together. She was one of my closest and dearest friends. She will be missed.
  28. I always admired your mother’s caring and selfless nature. She was a true friend and someone who was always a pleasure to have around.”

What to Say To Someone Who Lost Their Dad

  1. Your dad did a great job raising you. May you always feel his pride and love.
  2. Nobody could tell a better story than your dad. I will always cherish the times I got to know him.
  3. I could always count on your father to lighten the mood with a good joke. There will never be another man quite like him and his memory will live on forever.
  4. Your father left a permanent imprint on the hearts of everyone who had the pleasure of knowing him. He will be greatly missed.
  5. Your father was such a nice man. It saddened us when we heard he passed on. Rest in Heaven.
  6. The lessons your dad taught you, the love he gave, the way he cared for people… all those good things live on in you.
  7. Your father was a one-of-a-kind person that lived a truly remarkable life. I feel lucky I got to know him.
  8. I remember the first time I met your father. He made me feel so welcome and comfortable right away.
  9. I was shocked by the news that your dad has passed. He was a great guy and will be missed by all of us. We are praying for your entire family.
  10. A father’s guiding hand always sits on the shoulder of his children.
  11. May you see your father’s wisdom in all that you do, and recognize his kindness in your own heart. May you always feel him with you.
  12. Your dad was a kind man and a true gentleman, he always put others before himself. He will undoubtedly be missed.
  13. I am sorry to hear about the loss of your father. If you feel like talking to someone, know that I am a good listener.
  14. The loss of one’s father marks one of the most profound rites of passage in our life. My deepest condolences.
  15. Thinking of you in your time of loss. May the lessons your father gave you last a lifetime, and may you always feel his spirit nearby.
  16. A good man like your father deserves a good place in heaven. May his soul rest in peace. My prayer is with you always. God bless you in this difficult time.
  17. Heartfelt condolence to you and your family for this great loss. May God bless your dad with eternal peace.
  18. We wanted to offer our condolences for the loss of your father. We wish you and your family peace and comfort during this difficult time.
  19. You were blessed to have a father so special and caring. His memory will live forever in our hearts.
  20. Your dad was such a great guy and I am so sorry about your loss. He had a great sense of humor and always seemed so happy and full of life. He will be missed very much by all of us who knew him.
  21. A father’s love is a never-ending gift. May you forever feel his light shining down on you from Heaven.
  22. I look at you and feel grateful to your father that he left such a wonderful person among us. Your father may be no more with us now, but you have many shoulders to share this weight of loss. May his soul rest in peace.
  23. We’re so sorry to hear about the loss of your father. He had a contagious smile, and his laughter brightened up the room.
  24. Please accept my condolences on the loss of your beautiful father. He was larger than life, and I’ll always remember all he did for those around him.
  25. I hope it comforts you to know that your grief is shared by all of us who knew your dad. He was a wonderful man and he will be sorely missed.
  26. Losing a father is one of the most difficult things you can experience. I’m so sorry you are going through this, but please know I’m thinking of you and your family. If you need anything, please let me know.
  27. I am sorry for your loss. Your dad was the pillar of our community and will be missed. Your family is in our prayers.
  28. I like to believe that when we lose someone close to us, like a father, they still live through us and give us strength. The time we have spent with those we’ve lost makes them a part of us.
  29. I know how much you loved your father. His passing must be hard on the family. We are praying for you all.
  30. Your father was a great friend and mentor to me and I’m so sorry to hear of his passing. Your family is in my thoughts and prayers.
  31. I will always treasure the fun memories I have with your dad. He will be missed by many.
  32. Your father was so proud of you and loved you so much. I hope this comforts you as you deal with his loss. I would love to help you in any way possible. Let me know what I can do.
  33. Our hearts are saddened by the loss of your father. Please know that you are in our thoughts and prayers at this difficult time.
  34. Losing your dad can be extremely difficult because you are losing a source of strength, stability and consistency in your life.  I am sorry for your loss.
  35. I will pray that God will grant you the strength and the wisdom that your dad once provided to you and your family.
  36. Although he wasn’t a dad to me, your father was important to many people, including myself. I will miss his wit, humor, and friendship.
  37. Your father’s body may rest and fade, but the wisdom he has shared with us will never die. You and your family are in our prayers.
  38. The little things your dad shared with me mean so much. I am so thankful to meet a person like him. Please remember me if you need anything.
  39. Your father’s memory may bring tears to your eyes today; I hope you’ll honor these memories with a smile someday. I offer you my deepest sympathy. Want more quotes before you go? Check out… 150 Quotes About Life101 Quotes From Buddha on Life, Love and Happiness101 Depression Quotes to Not Feel So Alone

What to Say to Someone Who Lost a Parent  Comforting Words For Death of Mother or Father - 99What to Say to Someone Who Lost a Parent  Comforting Words For Death of Mother or Father - 23What to Say to Someone Who Lost a Parent  Comforting Words For Death of Mother or Father - 97What to Say to Someone Who Lost a Parent  Comforting Words For Death of Mother or Father - 64What to Say to Someone Who Lost a Parent  Comforting Words For Death of Mother or Father - 90What to Say to Someone Who Lost a Parent  Comforting Words For Death of Mother or Father - 35