“It was what it was,” she said while speaking about the injury, as per PEOPLE. “Clumsiness is associated with grief, and there were other people in our family, after mom died, who fell stairs and had accidents, and that’s just what mine happened to look like. It really allowed me to grieve. It really allowed me to stop what I was working on at that moment and to grieve.” Michael Tran/Getty Images “The day that my beloved mother died by suicide, I had so many people to call. There were five women who were with me within moments of my sharing that tragic news with them, and they are my chosen sisters,” Judd continued. “I was just reflecting overnight. I had one of my 2 a.m. wake-ups overnight, and I was reflecting on those first days after her passing and how there was always someone with me at my house.“Although, this isn’t the only time Judd has suffered a leg injury. In Feb. 2021, the actress shattered her leg while visiting the Democratic Republic of the Congo for research on the Bonobos, an endangered ape species.Judd tripped over a fallen tree and broke her leg in four places. She was transported in a 55-hour rescue to a hospital in South Africa, where she underwent an eight-hour surgery. She spent months in physical therapy, but luckily her recovery was faster than expected. You can read her recollection of the incident in its entirety in the embedded Instagram post below: More News:

‘Big Sky’ Actress Shares Fall Family Photos With Adorable Infant Son’Bachelor’ Couple Serena Pitt and Joe Amabile Reveal They Got Married With Courthouse Wedding VideoHailey Bieber Mesmerizes in Sheer Mesh Dress With Black Lingerie Underneath Ashley Judd Reveals Injury Caused by  Grief  From Mother s Death - 59